Sermon on the Mount structure overview

Russell Minick 1 Comment

  1. Jesus’ Sermon is his explanation of how he lives and how others should and can live now
  2. My main argument is that there are 8 beatitudes [5:3-10]which are the outline for the body of Jesus’ message [5:11-6:24]
  3. The conclusion of the Sermon [6:24-7:27] addresses anticipated objections which correspond to Jesus’ temptations [4:1-10]
  4. The 8 beatitudes are bookmarked by Kingdom of Heaven indicating that Jesus is explaining what he had been living and preaching [4:17] {as well as what John preached  3:2}
  5. The center of the two sets of four beatitudes is: be telios as your Father 5:48/not just appearing so for people 6:1
  6. The first set of four are describing a maturing righteousness with three examples of more mature righteousness than the understood reading of Torah (peace/pure/mercy)
  7. The second set of four [6:2-24] are describing a mature expression of spirituality (fasting 6:16-18, prayer 6:5-15 and alms giving 6:2-4)
  8. The second set of four moves final step back to the first step (which is proper treasuring of spirituality over and against financial prosperity 6:19-24)
  9. The first set of four moves from the first step to the final step restrained contempt to peacemaking 5:21-26, duplicity to pure in heart 5:27-37, restrained vengeance to mercy 5:28-47
  10. The temptations of Jesus are like the palette of primary colors from which all other colors come: physical, relational, spiritual (will) {as such, these three temptations are the base for all}

    “For all that is in the world–the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions–is not from the Father but is from the world.”  (1 John 2:16)


Jesus is the righteous son of God, the faithful Israel in the wilderness.  He trusts God for his physical needs (vs. lunging for bread), relational needs (vs. using God’s promise to look good in front of the Temple crowd when jumping) and spiritual needs (use the will to submit to God or to believe the adversary for self gain).  Jesus restates John’s declaration: Turn your thoughts and actions around (repent); God is in charge here and now (kingdom of heaven at hand).


Jesus gets men to train and delivers relief to hurting people by miraculously meeting their physical needs (healings), relational needs (demonic and teaching) and spiritual needs (teaching/preaching).  Everyone is amazed and so he explains.


There is a blessed (inherently good) life.  It is the life with God in charge (kingdom of heaven).


Poor in Spirit Kingdom of Heaven
  • Mourning
  • Comforted
  • Meek
  • Inherit earth
  • Hunger for righteousness
  • Satisfied
τέλειός = mature live for God
  • Merciful
  • Receive mercy
  • Pure in heart
  • See God
  • Peacemakers
  • “sons of God”
Persecuted for Righteousness Kingdom of Heaven



(Visited 258 times, 1 visits today)

Comments 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *